Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Sign In

Background

How the College came to be 

For more than 20 years, organizations working in early learning and care lobbied the Government of Ontario to get legislative recognition for early childhood educators (ECEs). A group that included the Association of Early Childhood Educators Ontario (AECEO), l’Association francophone à l'éducation des services à l'enfance de l’Ontario (Aféseo), Canadian Mothercraft Society, Canadian Union of Public Employees (CUPE), Home Child Care Association of Ontario (HCCAO), and ECE Coordinators for Ontario Colleges of Applied Arts and Technology (OCAAT), among others, believed that the profession of early childhood education should be recognized by law, similar to professions like teaching, nursing, medicine, dentistry and social work. 

In the mid-1990s, these groups formed a ‘Working Committee for Legislative Recognition of Early Childhood Educators’ and made recommendations to the provincial government for self-regulation of the profession. Self-regulation of a profession means that that the regulatory body sets entry to practise requirements to become members of the College.  It also means that measures are put in place so that only those who meet the qualifications and requirements are legally permitted to practise the profession. 

Finally, in 2007, the Government of Ontario passed a piece of legislation called the Early Childhood Educators Act, 2007. This law established the College of Early Childhood Educators (the College), which so many groups had fought long and hard for. A transitional Council was formed, with nine people appointed by the government to do the work necessary to set up the College and begin to register ECEs as members.

Site Map |  Contact Us |  Privacy Statement |  Terms and Conditions |  Webmaster |  © College of Early Childhood Educators

Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Sign In

Historique

Les origines de l'Ordre

Pendant plus de 20 ans, certains organismes travaillant dans le domaine de l’éducation et du soin de la petite enfance ont fait pression sur le gouvernement de l’Ontario pour avoir une loi qui reconnaisse la profession d’éducatrice et d’éducateur de la petite enfance. Un groupe formé notamment de l’Association francophone à l’éducation des services à l’enfance (Aféseo), de l’Association of Early Childhood Educators (AECEO), de Canadian Mothercraft Society, du Syndicat canadien de la fonction publique (SCFP), de l'Association Ontarienne de garde d'enfants à domicile et de coordonnateurs de programmes d’éducation de la petite enfance dans des collèges d’arts appliqués et de technologie de l’Ontario était d’avis que l’éducation de la petite enfance devrait être une profession reconnue par une loi, comme dans d’autres professions telles que l’enseignement, les sciences infirmières, la médecine, l’art dentaire et le travail social.

Au milieu des années 1990, ces organismes ont formé un « comité de travail pour la reconnaissance législative des éducatrices et des éducateurs de la petite enfance » et ont soumis au gouvernement provincial des recommandations en vue de l’autoréglementation de la profession. Lorsqu’une profession s’autoréglemente, l’organisme de réglementation établit les exigences d’adhésion à la profession auxquelles il faut satisfaire pour devenir membre de l’Ordre. Des mesures sont également mises en place pour que les personnes qui satisfont aux prérequis et aux exigences établis soient légalement autorisées à exercer la profession.

En 2007, le gouvernement de l’Ontario a adopté la Loi de 2007 sur les éducatrices et les éducateurs de la petite enfance. Cette loi prévoit l’établissement de l’Ordre, une étape que de nombreux groupes attendaient depuis longtemps. Un conseil transitoire formé de neuf membres nommés par le gouvernement a également été formé pour mettre l’Ordre sur pied et commencer à inscrire les EPE à titre de membres de l’Ordre.
 

plan du site |  contactez-nous |  énoncé de confidentialité |  conditions |  webmestre |  © L'Ordre des éducatrices et des éducateurs de la petite enfance